Amazon fee calculator
An independent calculator, not Amazon: nothing to sign in to and nothing to pay here. Enter a sale amount and read the fees.
Amazon takes a referral fee — a category percentage (8% to 45%, most at 15%) of the item price plus shipping and gift wrap, with a $0.30 minimum in most categories — plus $0.99 per item on the Individual plan or $39.99 a month on Professional, and a $1.80 closing fee on media. FBA fulfillment fees are separate.
The nightly check re-reads 15 of the 56 sentences quoted on this page; the rest are in tables or on pages that block automated reading and were verified by a person on 2026-09-08.
At a glance (default settings)
| Sale | Fees | You keep | Effective rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| $10.00 | $2.49 | $7.51 | 24.90% |
| $25.00 | $4.74 | $20.26 | 18.96% |
| $50.00 | $8.49 | $41.51 | 16.98% |
| $100.00 | $15.99 | $84.01 | 15.99% |
| $250.00 | $38.49 | $211.51 | 15.40% |
| $500.00 | $75.99 | $424.01 | 15.20% |
| $1,000.00 | $150.99 | $849.01 | 15.10% |
Computed from the schedule with the calculator's default settings; change them above for your case. How much does Amazon take? explains each fee in words.
Where these numbers come from
- How much does it cost to sell on Amazon? | Sell on Amazon (Standard selling fees) — read 2026-09-08
- Selling on Amazon fee schedule (Seller Central help, public; 'This article applies to selling in: United States') — read 2026-09-08
- Referral fees (Seller Central help, public) — read 2026-09-08
- Closing fees (Seller Central help, public) — read 2026-09-08
- Seller Central help page GX7NRP7C7LKZLQV6 (FAILED: JS app shell only, body text 'You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.'; also tried https://sellercentral.amazon.com/gp/help/external/GX7NRP7C7LKZLQV6 with same result) — read 2026-09-08
Two layers. (1) Selling plan: Individual = $0.99 per item sold, no subscription; Professional = $39.99 per month 'when you have active listings', no per-item fee. (2) Referral fee per unit sold, charged 'When the buyer's order is shipped': Referral fee = max( (item price + delivery charges + gift-wrap charges) x category rate , per-item minimum referral fee ). Base = 'total sales price' = total amount paid by the buyer including item price and any delivery or gift wrapping charges, 'excluding any taxes calculated through Amazon tax calculation services'. Minimum is $0.30 per unit for most categories; categories shown as '--' have no minimum (Fine Art, Gift Cards, Grocery and Gourmet, Media, Video Game Consoles, Video Games and Gaming Accessories). Tiered categories come in two kinds: 'portion' (marginal) tiers where each rate applies only to the slice of the total sales price inside the band (Compact Appliances, Electronics Accessories, Fine Art, Furniture, Jewelry, Watches), and 'whole_price' tiers where the rate is picked by the total sales price bucket and applied to the entire price (Baby Products; Beauty, Health and Personal Care; Clothing and Accessories; Grocery and Gourmet; Lawn Mowers and Snow Throwers). (3) Closing fee: flat $1.80 per unit sold in Books, DVD, Music, Software & Computer/Video Games, Video Game Consoles, and Video Game Accessories, in addition to the referral fee. Seller pays all of the above (deducted from the buyer's payment before deposit). Amazon 'collects the lower of the applicable fees stated below and any fees communicated to you by Amazon (such as promotional fees)'. Refunds: Amazon returns the referral fee minus a refund administration fee (lesser of $5.00 or 20% of the referral fee). Rounding rules are not stated on any loaded page.
Checked against Amazon's own examples
The calculator reproduces every worked example the platform publishes; these are run as tests before any page is built.
- Referral fee for a toy product (15% category, $0.30 minimum) with delivery and gift-wrap charges Page says: referral fee $4.95. "Item price = $25.00 Delivery charges = $4.50 Gift-wrap charges = $3.50 Total sales price = Item price + delivery charges + giftwrap charges = $33.00 Referral fee = Higher of (15% multiplied by $33.00) or $0.30 = $4.95"
- Watches, $8.00 watch (16% on portion up to $1,500) Page says: referral fee $1.28. "Example 1: Referral fee for an $8.00 watch | For the portion of the total sales price up to $1,500.00 | $1.28 | For any portion of the total sales price from $1,500.01 and above | $0.00 | Referral fee | $1.28"
- Watches, $1,500.00 watch Page says: referral fee $240.00. "Example 2: Referral fee for a $1,500.00 watch | For the portion of the total sales price up to $1,500.00 | $240.00 | For any portion of the total sales price from $1,500.01 and above | $0.00 | Referral fee | $240.00"
- Watches, $7,000.00 watch (16% on first $1,500 = $240 plus 3% on remaining $5,500 = $165) Page says: referral fee $405.00. "Example 3: Referral fee for a $7,000.00 watch | For the portion of the total sales price up to $1,500.00 | $240.00 | For any portion of the total sales price from $1,500.01 and above | $165.00 | Referral fee | $405.00"
- Closing fee on a book sale (flat, in addition to referral fee) Page says: closing fee $1.80. "When a book is sold in the Amazon store, the seller is charged a $1.80 closing fee in addition to any other applicable fees."
Not included
- FBA fulfillment fees (out of scope per task)
- FBA monthly inventory storage fees, aged inventory surcharge, inbound placement, removal/disposal order fees, returns processing fees
- Advertising (Amazon Ads / Sponsored Products)
- Amazon Business (B2B) referral fee schedule (separate page G201762480, not loaded)
- Special handling fee, lithium batteries fee, digital services fee (listed as related fee pages; amounts not loaded)
- Shipping credits / BMVD shipping rates for Individual sellers
- Sales tax collected via Amazon tax calculation services (excluded from referral fee base)
Notes
- FAILED PAGE: https://sellercentral.amazon.com/help/hub/reference/external/GX7NRP7C7LKZLQV6 rendered only the JS app shell ('You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.') under both crawl4ai and a Playwright fetch with network-idle wait; the legacy /gp/help/external/ form of the same ID also returned the shell. Used instead: sell.amazon.com/pricing plus the public Seller Central pages 'Selling on Amazon fee schedule' (G200336920), 'Referral fees' (GTG4BAWSY39Z98Z3) and 'Closing fees' (GKD9U5REK5DKB38Y), which rendered fully.
- No 'last updated' date is displayed on any of the four loaded Amazon pages; only a '© 2026 Amazon.com Services LLC.' footer.
- Category names differ slightly between sell.amazon.com/pricing and Seller Central: 'Pet Supplies' vs 'Pet Products'; 'Appliances - Compact' vs 'Compact Appliances'; 'Appliances - Full-size' vs 'Full-Size Appliances'; 'Media - Books, DVD, Music, Software, Video' identical. Seller Central names used as keys.
- CONFLICT (Fine Art): sell.amazon.com/pricing reads '20% for the portion of Sales Proceeds up to $100 (with a minimum Referral Fee of $1.00)' with the minimum column showing '--'; Seller Central reads '20% for the portion of the total sales price up to $100.00' and minimum '--' with no $1.00 mention. Treated minimum as unstated/None; flag for review.
- Two different tier semantics exist in the same table: 'for the portion of the total sales price' = marginal bands; 'for products with a total sales price of ... or less / greater than' = the whole price gets one rate. Encoded as tier_basis 'portion' vs 'whole_price'.
- Closing fee scope: Seller Central lists Books, DVD, Music, Software & Computer/Video Games, Video Game Consoles, and Video Game Accessories; sell.amazon.com's footnote 4 says only 'media items'. Seller Central list used.
- Referral fee base excludes taxes only when calculated through Amazon tax calculation services; the fee is charged when the order ships, not at sale.
- The Professional subscription is charged only 'when you have active listings'; merged multi-country accounts may see a different fee (page footnote).
- Rounding of fee amounts is not specified on any loaded page.
- sell.amazon.com/pricing links 'Learn more about selling fees' to Seller Central G6F7CN3EQS7MEGCN ('Selling on Amazon fees guide'); not loaded, not needed for numbers.
See a mistake? The schedule file behind this page is public; corrections that cite the platform's page are applied.